Dr. Charmaine Roye

The 2009 May Cohen Award winner is Dr. Charmaine Roye!

Profile by: Dr. Karen Breeck, Awards Committee Chair

This year’s recipient has dedicated her life’s work to supporting women’s health as an active obstetrician/gynecologist for over 20 years. Dr. Roye is also an avid athlete, excelling in tennis and golf. However, the attribute that made her stand out above and beyond the rest was her activities in mentoring female physicians.
A born physician leader, Charmaine was the 2007 Recipient of Excellence in Medical Leadership Award winner from the Canadian Society of Physician Executives. She is presently the Chief of Medical Staff at the Brantford General Hospital and has sat on/chaired numerous FMWC, Medical Women’s International Association (MWIA), Ontario Medical Association (OMA), Canadian Medical Association (CMA) and Society of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists of Canada (SOGC) committees. Highlights include being past FMWC President, Vice President North America Region MWIA, Chair of OMA’s Women’s Issues Committee, Chair of CMA’s Committee of National Medical Organizations, and Chair of SOGC Women’s Health Policy Committee.

The common thread through all these activities and achievements is Charmaine’s innate ability and interest to teach and mentor other female physicians. Be it medical students, gyne residents, physician peers, fellow athletes, committee or board members – Charmaine always not only makes herself available but goes the extra step to ensure that her knowledge is made available to those interested to learn from her extensive experiences. A living model of  “paying it forward”, the Federation is honoured to recognize Charmaine for the positive influence her mentoring has provided so many female physicians - not only within the Federation but in every aspect of her work and interests !  To quote Dr. Roye’s nominator, Dr. Younger-Lewis, Charmaine is an “exceptional physician, leader and mentor, at local, provincial and national levels. Her dedication to supporting women’s health and encouraging women physicians to take on leadership roles is unwavering”.