Congratulations to the 2017 FWMC Award Recipients

2017 FMWC Award Recipients
Presented at the 2017 FMWC AGM & National Conference
Ottawa, September 14-17, 2017

The announcement and presentation of the FMWC Annual Awards, are a highlight of the AGM weekend. This year’s recipient’s are leaders in their areas and have dedicated their work to promoting the well-being of women physicians and women’s health.

Dr. Jalene Manenrfeldt

The Reproductive Health Award is an annual award presented to recognize a full FMWC member who is seen to have significantly contributed to the promotion of women’s reproduction health at a national or international level.

The 2017 award went to Dr. Jaelene Mannerfeldt a Clinical Assistant Professor in the Departments of Obstetrics and Gynecology and Family Medicine at the University of Calgary. She is the Director of Quality Enhancement and Safety Team, site lead and Chair of the Postgraduate Education at Rockyview General Hospital. She has served in multiple capacities to advance the quality and safety of reproductive healthcare locally, nationally and internationally. She has served as a consultant physician for Médecins sans Frontières, and collaborative projects in Laos, Philippines, Zimbabwe, Tanzania, Guyana and Iraq. Dr Mannerfeldt is actually away in Tanzania on an international project on maternal outcomes and she sent her thanks via video message, which was shared with audience.

Dr. Janet Dollin

The May Cohen Award was named in honour of Dr. May Cohen, a former FMWC National President. This prestigious award goes to the FMWC member who best personifies May Cohen's ability to put the FMWC vision statement into living action in support of women physicians and women's health.

This year’s recipient of the May Cohen Awards is Dr. Janet Dollin. Dr. Dolin is an Associate Professor in the Department of Family Medicine at the University of Ottawa, Past president of FMWC and currently serves as a member of Board of Directors for Immunize Canada and the Cervical Cancer Advisory Committee at Cancer Care Ontario. Janet has been a tireless advocate for the advancement of women’s health, women physicians, and gender equity. She has held many leadership positions in diverse organizations and committees. In 2008 she received the Award of Excellence in advancing gender equity from the University of Ottawa

Danusha Jebanesan

The Student Leadership Award recognizes the medical student member showing the most potential in the realm of leadership. Particular interest is given to candidates who demonstrate leadership in support of the FMWC mission statement.

This year’s recipient is Danusha Jebanesan. Danusha is a medical student at the University of Ottawa and the National Student Representative at FMWC. She is actively involved in promoting student representation and voice through her work on the FMWC national PAP campaign, and the AGM planning Committee. She has been a student lead for Choosing Wisely Canada, the Ontario Medical Students’ Association and the Canadian Federation of Medical Students in addition to volunteering for a number of community organizations.

Dr. Shaila Misri

The Enid Johnson MacLeod Award recognizes either a physician or non-physician for the promotion of women’s health research and/or women’s health education. This award was established to honor Dr. Enid MacLeod, a long-time member of the Federation from Nova Scotia. Dr. MacLeod was known for her research into the use of curare for anesthesia and remembered for her generosity and warmth of spirit.

This year’s winner of the Enid Johnson MacLeod Award is Dr. Shaila Misri. Dr. Misri is a Clinical Professor in the Department of Psychiatry at the University of British Columbia. She was the Founding Director of the Reproductive Mental Health Program and current Director of Research and Continuing Medical Education at the BC Women’s Hospital and Health Centre. She has given over 500 talks at academic venues, has over 60 publications and numerous media appearances in advancing and advocating for maternal mental health. Please join me in congratulating DR. Misri.

Dr. Pamela Liao

The Margaret Owen Waite Memorial Fund provides a $1000 scholarship to a FMWC practicing physician full member wishing to further medical education, complete work in a rural or developing country or present an original paper at a medical meeting, priority given to the Medical Women’s International Association meetings.

The 2017 recipient is Dr. Pamela Liao. Dr. Pamela Liao is a family physician in Toronto and a strong advocate for women’s health and physicians. She is actively involved in leadership positions at the OMA, FMWC and the Medical Women’s Internatioanl Association. She is currently the Chair of the FMWC National Cervical Cancer Screening Campaign and has worked on a webinar series and manual on behalf of MWAI on the elimination of violence against women. This award enables her to present her work at the Commission for the Status of Women as part of the MWAI delegation.

Ms. Monica Olsen

Each year, the FMWC confers Honorary Member status to an individual for outstanding contribution to the FMWC, to women’s health and/or to women in medicine. Honorary Members need not be members of the FMWC or of the medical profession.

This year’s Honorary Member is Ms. Monica Olsen, President of Olsen and Associates Consulting. Ms. Olsen focuses on health education, facilitation and coaching. She is also Senior Faculty, Physician Manager Institute, Canadian Medical Association where she is engaged in various leadership programs; an External Educator, Facilitator and Coach with the University Health Network and an Education Facilitator with the Physician Workplace Support Program, Ontario Medical Association; and a Facilitator/Instructor with the Schulich School of Business, Executive Education Centre, York University.

Congratulations to all the winners!