January 10 May Cohen Award

The May Cohen Award is presented annually to a longstanding full member of the Federation of Medical Women of Canada (FMWC) who best personifies the legacy of Dr. May Cohen and her unique ability to transfer the vision of the FMWC into living action in support of women physicians and women's health.

Read More»


January 10 Enid Johnson MacLeod Award ENID JOHNSON MACLEOD graduated from Dalhousie University Medical School and moved to Montreal to study Anesthesiology at McGill, and where she worked with Dr. Harold Griffith and did research into the use of muscle relaxants.  This was revolutionary to the practice of anesthesiology. She was a pioneer in the early days of the FMWC.

Read More»


January 10 The Reproductive Health Award This award is presented annually to the Federation of Medical Women of Canada full member seen to contribute the most to the field of reproductive health.

Read More»


January 10 Honorary Member

Awarded to a woman who has exemplified the spirit and mission of the Federation of Medical Women of Canada by making a significant contribution to women’s health, medicine, women physicians and/or the FMWC. Candidates need not be a member of the FMWC or of the medical profession.

Read More»


January 10 Student Leadership Award

Recognizing the FMWC medical student member showing the most leadership potential, particularly in support of the FMWC mission statement. 

Read More»


January 10 The Margaret Owen-Waite Memorial Fund This award provides a $1,000 scholarship to a FMWC practicing full member or resident wishing to further her medical education or complete temporary work in an under serviced, rural location or developing country or present an original paper at a medical meeting. Priority is given for presentation at Medical Women’s International Association (MWIA) meetings.

Read More»


January 10 The Maude Abbott Research Fund (MARF)

Designed to provide support to female physicians who wish to complete women's health research, this fund is now seeking applications for a research grant in Women’s Health, Education and Promotion. 

Read More»


January 10


The Maude Abbott Scholarship Fund (MASF)


Designed to advance education by providing scholarships, bursaries, awards and other forms of financial assistance to medical students at registered Canadian medical schools.

Read More»


Currently unavailable Jessie McGeachy Award

Presented every year to the woman graduating medical school at University of Saskatchewan with the best academic standing. The award was established in 1968 in honour of Dr. Jessie McGeachy, wife of the second Dean of Medicine, Dr. Wendell MacLeod.


Currently unavailable The Dr. Shelagh Lindsay Medical Award

Nominated by the University of Calgary and offered annually to a student completing the final year in the Faculty of Medicine MD program. To be eligible candidates must be accepted into a family medicine residency training program in Alberta from the Canadian Resident Matching Service. For more information on the Dr. Shelagh Lindsay Medical Award, visit the University of Calgary website’s convocation awards page.

Please note: When deciding among nominees for all awards, preference will be given to candidates who have been FMWC members in the prior year. The deadline for all award nominations is December 31st. In the event that no nominations are received for an award by Dec 31, the deadline for that award will be extended to June 30th.